Shows on My Tube in 2011

January 7, 2012 § 2 Comments

Not really so much on my tube but mostly (if not all) on my laptop. Haha. After writing the previous year-end post, I actually dread writing this one because of the number of movies/shows/anime/dramas I watched this year. I’ll only write about those that I remember off the top of my head. :D

I’ll do Asian Dramas first because I watched only a handful.

Hanazakari no Kimitachi e: Ikemen Paradise (花ざかりの君たちへ イケメン♂パラダイス) – A drama based on the popular manga of the same title that aired in 2007. Yep. The old drama, not the 2011 remake. I actually watched the first episode when it was still airing but it didn’t catch my attention. I enjoyed the 2006 Taiwanese version so much, I dropped this. It was only early last year that I decided to watch it again and I’m glad I did. I love it! Everything from the story lines to the actors (main and extras) were epic. It was hilarious, I laughed for hours just remembering the scenes. Ikuta Toma especially acted very well (like he always does) And of course, my love one of my favorites, Oguri Shun and Maki and Mizushima Hiro did well too. I’ll probably remember this drama for a long time because I realized something after watching this. Haha. A previous post was caused mainly by this drama.

Ouran High School Host Club (桜蘭高校ホスト部) – The live-action TV series. It is also based on a popular manga. The anime version is on my anime-favorites list and I expected to have as much fun watching this. It didn’t quite match the anime however I still enjoyed it. Yamamoto Yusuke and Daito Syunsuke (who played Shun’s brother in Hana Kimi) were somewhat similar to the anime characters they played. I recommend the anime version but watch this too if you have free time.

Ikemen Desu Ne (美男ですね) – The Japanese remake of the Korean drama “You’re Beautiful”. Although I restrained, I found myself comparing this to the original version. Some story lines were changed to I guess fit Japanese culture. One difference I noticed is that everything was explained in this version. So for me, it took away the anxiousness one feels during cliffhangers. I may be wrong but I think the three lead guys are Johnny’s boys. Jang Geun Suk (the male lead in the Korean version) cameos in this. While I like both versions, I liked the Korean version more.

My Girlfriend is a Nine-Tailed Fox (내 여자친구는 구미호) – The only Korean drama I watched last year. I started watching late 2010 and finished first quarter last year. This is another drama by the Hong Sisters (You’re Beautiful) so the brand of humor is one I am familiar with. Lead stars Lee Seung Gi and Shin Min Ah were great. The ending wasn’t. It was just okay.

Skip Beat! – The only anime I watched in 2011. Also based on an ongoing manga of the same name. It is about 16-year old Mogami Kyoko, who after following her childhood friend Fuwa Sho, finds out she was being used by the latter. She then vows revenge by joining the entertainment industry to rival Sho. She meets Tsuraga Ren, who later becomes her mentor and love interest. Watched the anime and found myself wanting more. So I am now following the manga. Suffice to say, I love the anime and manga.

Now on to American Shows.

Game of Thrones – An HBO series based on George R. R. Martin’s bestselling fantasy novel series, “A Song of Fire and Ice”. The first season is based on the first book of the same title. There are only a few worth describing as epic and this one definitely belongs to that group. The story lines are fantastic. The fantasy world is well-realized. And the actors are amazing. It was beautiful. It was gruesome. I love it! The second season will start airing in April 2012. I can’t wait.

Outsourced – A sitcom about an American managing a call center in India. Working at an outsourcing company myself, I can totally relate to the series. Cultures really do play a big part in such companies. I had so many laugh-out-loud moments watching this series. Gupta, who can be annoying some times, was the funniest. One funny scene I remember is Madhuri’s silent screaming. It is disappointing that the show was cancelled.

Once Upon a Time – an ongoing American fairy tale based series. I got hooked because well… who doesn’t like a fairy tale. Come on. I know we’d all deny it but we know deep inside, we really like fairy tales. This one has every fairy tale character (at least the popular ones) but mainly focuses on Snow White, her Prince Charming, their child, Emma and their grandson, Henry. The Evil Queen curses the whole of fairy land and all characters are then brought to our world forgetting who they really were. I like that in every episode, a character is featured. The back stories are interesting. It’s also interesting to see otherwise just imaginary characters given modern personas.

New Girl – also an ongoing American sitcom starring the quirky but lovely Zooey Deschanel. Her character Jess, moves in to another apartment after finding out that her bf was cheating on her. She moves in with 3 other guys thus the title “New Girl”. I liked the first 3 or 4 episodes because Zooey’s character is animated and it was really fun to watch. But I got bored by the 6th episode. I will still give it a chance though. It comes back on air January 17 so I have ample time to catch up.

Happy Endings – Another sitcom. This has been compared to “Friends” but really, it’s different. The humor is fresh. I laughed out so many times while watching this, it has been my go-to series to watch when I’m stressed/depressed. Out of the 6 characters, I like Jane, Brad and Penny the most. Love love love this show.

Revenge – This would have to be my 2nd most favorite show in 2011. It is loosely based on the novel “The Count of Monte Cristo”. Amanda, the show’s main character, comes back to the Hamptoms as Emily Thornton to exact revenge on the wealthy people who framed her innocent father. I can’t help but be hooked on Emily’s lust for revenge.

Aside from these, I watched old seasons of Leverage and House. I also watched episodes of Camelot, Grimm and The Secret Circle. These are also good watches but I haven’t have enough time to do so. I love Eva Green on Camelot (and I’m excited to see her in the new Johnny Depp movie). I’ll probably watch more episodes of Grimm. I don’t know about The Secret Circle.

And the last part of this long post, movies. I included only the films that I remember enjoying the most.

Harry Potter – Watched the first 7 installments of the series in preparation for the last movie, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2”. Also read listened to audiobooks of all 7 books. I love both the film series and the books.

The Extraordinary Adventures of Adèle Blanc-Sec (Les Aventures Extraordinaires d’Adèle Blanc-Sec) – a 2010 French film based on the comic of the same name. It follows Adèle Blanc-Sec on an adventure to wake a mummy believed to be the physician of Ramesses II. It is beautifully designed and very entertaining to say the least. Louise Bourgoin was delightful to watch as Adèle.

One Day – another film based on a book. Despite reviews saying it was disappointing, I still watched it and liked it. I am a sucker for what others might call “boring”. It reminds me a bit of the “Before Sunrise/Sunset” movies. The movies aren’t similar. I think it might be the pacing that makes me think so.

Easy A – This being a teen comedy film didn’t stop me from watching it. I love it! It was witty and funny. I hummed “Pocketful of Sunshine” numerous times several days after watching it. Emma Stone was especially superb in this.

3 Idiots – a 2009 Indian comedy film. I don’t normally watch Bollywood films. Not because the films are no good but because Bollywood music isn’t my taste. The musical numbers in this one made me cringe a bit but overall I enjoyed the movie. It has a positive feel to it. Kaveree Bamzai of India Today stated that “It’s a lovely story, of a man from nowhere who wanted to learn, told like a fairy tale, with the secret heart carrying its coded message of setting all of us free.”. I agree.

Crazy Little Thing Called Love – First Love (A Little Thing Called Love) (สิ่งเล็กเล็ก ที่เรียกว่า..รัก); a 2011 sleeper hit. Watching this movie made me feel like a teenager again. Haha. Thailand’s culture is somewhat similar to the Philippines’ so I can relate to this film. Especially the telephone scene where Nam calls Shone’s house only to scream upon hearing the latter’s voice. I can also relate to the scene where Nam intentionally uses another floor’s washroom to catch a glimpse of Shone in his homeroom. :))

Crazy, Stupid, Love – a romantic-comedy film starring Steve Carell, Julianne Moore, Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling. As always, Steve and Emma showed great comedic chops. (F**k seriously? It’s like you’re photoshopped.) I liked that scene where Steve’s boss tells him that “It could’ve been cancer, buddy.” It’s true. For everything bad that happens to us, it could have been worse.

Puss in Boots – Saw this with my nephew, Francis and had a blast. It was funny and very charming. Francis liked the dancing scene (among other scenes). Me too. This animated movie isn’t just for the kids but for the adults too. =D

Despicable Me – I don’t remember why it took me awhile to watch this. This is one of my top 10 favorite animated movies ever. Agnes is so adorable. The minions are funny. Agnes’ unicorn obsession is also adorable and funny. And the theme song by Pharrell Williams is badass.

Eat, Pray, Love – I agree with the reviews saying the movie lacked the emotional depth the book had. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the movie. Mainly because of Julia Roberts and the lines. I got so many “quotable” quotes from this film. It made me happy just quoting them.

20 30 40 – a 2004 Taiwanese film. The movie tells interwoven stories about three women on varying ages. The issues tackled in the movie are normal life issues so one can easily relate to it. Although I liked the movie, I must say it had a monotonous tone to it.

Four Weddings and a Funeral – I’ve watched this movie in parts for many years but never whole until this year. It is almost 18 years old. I was 11 when it came out and would’ve been too young to understand “romance”. The theme song “Love is All Around” stuck to my head though even to this day. Those who are suckers for romances should definitely have this on their collection.

Eat Drink Man Woman Like the previous movie, this was also released in 1994. The movie’s central idea is that love like eating and drinking are essential in life. It’s a beautiful film.

Whew. That’s it. I’m amazed that despite time constraints, I have seen so much movies. There were others I didn’t include and it’s mostly because I don’t have time and will to write about them anymore. Ahaha. I’m relieved this post is done. I’m finally able to watch more. =D

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Shows on My Tube in 2011

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shows on My Tube in 2011 at Luokeshan's Blog.

meta

