Join the Clone Club

August 24, 2013 § 2 Comments

Long overdue (like almost all my posts lol) post!

About a month ago, I finally got around to watching a new show called Orphan Black. I’ve come across mentions of it through Twitter and Tumblr early this year but I was too engrossed with my then current list of shows to watch, that I didn’t have time to check out new ones. Last month, out of whim, I downloaded the entire first season and started watching. I watched the entire season in a day. It was awesome to the 100th level!

orphan-black-tca-panel-bbc-america

Orphan Black is about a woman named Sarah Manning who through witnessing a suicide of a woman who looks identical to herself discovers that she is one of several clones. Sarah initially thought the woman, Beth, was her twin and assumed her identity to escape her ex-boyfriend who she stole drugs from and to acquire her “twin’s” funds so she can get her daughter back from her foster mother. Soon after assuming Beth’s identity however, she realized that her life would never be the same.

So like I said, this show is beyond awesome! The plots and lines are good but it’s mostly because of the lead, Tatiana Maslany. She’s utterly amazing. She played 7 clones (7!), 4 of which were major clones. And she pulled it off. She was able to give each clone her own character. Even on scenes where one clone plays another clone, I was still able to identify who that clone really is. I was very much impressed.

orphan-black-feature

And Jordan Gavaris! Felix Felix Felix! Jordan plays Sarah’s foster brother, Felix Dawkins. He’s gay and sassy. He’s the perfect support character!

felix

And Dylan as Paul Dierden, Beth’s fiancee turned Sarah’s lover when the latter assumed the former’s identity. Not only that, his role is also uhhmmm… hmmmm… can’t say without giving out spoilers. Anyway, Tatiana and Jordan’s acting chaps overshadow Dylan’s but it’s okay. He’s yummy. Please see photo below lol. Wasn’t able to find a screencap of this particular scene so I took one myself. =D

Wow - Paul

The first season is only 10 (short) episodes so go on… find a copy, start watching, and join the clone club fanclub!

Oh oh oh I just have to include this. One of my favorite Orphan Black gif sets.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Join the Clone Club

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Join the Clone Club at Luokeshan's Blog.

meta

