Sinulog

January 21, 2014 § 4 Comments

My exquisite hometown, Cebu held its annual celebration of the Feast of the Santo Niño last weekend. The celebration lasts for about 2 weeks that concludes with a street parade.

Sinulog commemorates the arrival of the Santo Niño image on the shores of Cebu and the Cebuanos and Filipinos’ acceptance of the Catholic faith. Basilica Minore del Santo Niño houses the original image that was given by the Spaniards to the Filipinos. The Basilica holds a nine-day novena, several processions including a fluvial one. (Please see a Sinulog post I did in 2010. Go ahead. It has pictures unlike this boring post I’m doing now.)

It’s a really huge celebration. And I’m not exaggerating. Devotees and people from all over the Philippines flock to Cebu. There are many events hosted by the Sinulog foundation. Traffic is horrendous. Cost me a lot of lates last week.

I don’t know now where I’m going with this post but I already typed a lot so I’m posting it anyway. Oh and I wanted to post the video I took of SM’s fireworks display last Sunday. Lol.

I took the video using my phone so no wide shots. I am stupid and tilted the phone when I needed wide shots so the finished video looks weird. Some shots looked like the fireworks came from the left instead of from the bottom. Just tilt your head when these shots come on. :D

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Sinulog

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sinulog at Luokeshan's Blog.

meta

