New Songs Too (LLP s2 – p3)

January 23, 2014 § Leave a comment

As promised last week, this week’s LLP post includes new additions to my music library too. This time, the songs are Filipino songs or OPM (Original Pilipino Music). I used to watch music channels when I was (way way) younger but I don’t have the time to anymore. Since I started working, I would “discover” new songs through the cab’s radio. And now, through radio apps and the occasional mentions I read on Twitter. I “discovered” the songs below while in a cab en route to the office. The songs are in Tagalog, the Philippines’ national language. In attempt to be reader-friendly, I will translate (or at least try to) a few lines of each song.

Yakap – Charice
On Charice’s 4th album, Chapter 10, released on September 6, 2013. Original song by Ogie Alcasid.

This song is about love found again. If you know Tagalog, you would know that the lyrics is beautiful. Charice’s voice is as lovely as ever and her voice suits this song very well. Charice also sang this song so soulfully. I can really feel the emotion. The first time I heard this song, I got goosebumps all over. I just listened to the entire album on Grooveshark and I cannot wait to recommend it to everyone I know! Album available on iTunes.

Chorus:
Ako ay nagbalik, at muli kang nasilayan
Hindi na ‘ko muli pang lilisan
Dahil kung ikaw ang yakap ko,
Parang yakap ko ang langit
At yakap ko pati ang ‘yong ngiti.

English Translation:
I came back and saw you once more.
I will never leave again.
‘Cause when I embrace you,
It feels like I’m embracing heaven
And that I’m embracing your smile as well.

Sa ‘Yo Na Lang Ako – Karylle
On Karylle’s album entitled “K” released on October 11, 2013. Originally on the PhilPop’s 2013 album released on June 11, 2013 still by Karylle.

PhilPop or the Philippine Popular Music Festival is a songwriting competition held annually for amateur and professional Filipino songwriters and composers living in and out of the country. Sadly, for someone who loves music so much, I haven’t heard or even knew about the songs. I have corrected this and am already aware that there is just a month left for submission for this year’s competition.

Back to the song. The singer asks that someone if that person could make her life complete and if she could belong to him. Sigh. Lol. Love songs. Click here to purchase. The song isn’t on Grooveshark, unfortunately.

Chorus:
Kung pwede lang naman
Kung pwede lang pag-bigyan
Pag-ibig ko sa ‘yo, ‘di papatalo
Kung okey lang naman
Pwede bang ikaw na lang
Ang bubuo sa buhay kong ito
Kung pwede lang ako na lang sa ‘yo

Translation:
If it’s okay
If you can give me a chance
This love for you, won’t give up.
If it’s okay
Can you be the one
To complete this life of mine
If it’s okay, can I be yours?

Dati – Sam Concepcion, Trippy Dos Santos and Quest
Grand Winner of PhilPop 2013. On PhilPop’s 2013 album released on June 11, 2013.

This song! I love it! Obviously, a lot of Filipinos do too. I was telling my cousins about it last Sunday after church and they actually told me “Ate (older sis), you’re so late!”. Lol. It is the grand winner of last year’s PhilPop.

The song is about childhood love and how the singers wanted to have that love now that they’re older. It is very nostalgic for Filipinos my generation. There’s a part where the lyric goes “Parang Julio at Julia lagi tayong magkasama. Sabay tayong umiiyak pag inaapi si Sarah“. In English, “Like Julio and Julia, we were always together. We cried at the same time when Sarah was bullied.” Julio and Julia or Jules and Julie, The Twins of Destiny, and Sarah, from Princess Sarah were characters from popular cartoons in the ’80s and ’90s. Love it! Click here for the entire PhilPop 2013 album.

Chorus:
Di bat ikaw nga yung reyna at ako ang iyong hari
Ako yung prinsesang sagip mo palagi
Ngunit ngayoy marami ng nabago’t nangyari
Ngunit di ang pagtingin na gaya pa rin ng dati.

Translation:
Wasn’t it that you were the queen and I was the king?
I was the princess that you always saved.
But now a lot has changed and happened
But not my feelings that are still the same as before.

I realize my translations are bad. Lol. I didn’t say I was a good translator. Hope you enjoyed this week’s selection. The next LLP post will be special. I am very much excited for it. Stay tuned!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Songs Too (LLP s2 – p3) at Luokeshan's Blog.

meta

