The One That Got Away (LLP s2 – p4)

January 28, 2014 § 4 Comments

“The One That Got Away” is probably one of the most used topics there are in anything. Several shorts, books, and movies have been made around this theme. And of course songs too. This week’s LLP post is, you guessed it, about the one that got away.

The One That Got Away – Johnta Austin
Released in 2008

I don’t remember now how I came across this song. The video did not get released I think (I didn’t know Mel B was on it). I’m not sure this even got airplay. It was probably when I was routinely streaming 1.FM. The song is about regretting (aren’t they always?) the actions leading to the loss of that someone truly loved and asking, no, begging for another chance to make things right.

The One That Got Away – Tiffany Alvord and Chester See
Cover of Katy Perry’s “The One That Got Away”

Everybody knows this Katy Perry song. You are lying if you say you don’t. I wasn’t much into it when it got released in October 2011. I was browsing covers on Youtube last year and this one cover is apparently very popular. And I liked it. The tempo has been decreased so instead of it being a mid-tempo pop song, the song is a slow ballad. It is also a duet. I like this version more than the original one.

The One That Got Away – The Civil Wars
Released as the 1st single on June 11, 2013 of the 2nd album entitled “The Civil Wars”.

Heard this song on the TV show, Ravenswood. The usual among stories and songs about the one that got away is that the writer/singer is regretting losing that one person. This song however is different. The singer actually wishes that person to be the one that got away. The song tells that the singer regrets acting on the attraction/desire. The lyrics are spot on. There’s also something about the way the song is sung that really makes me feel the emotions one would have if in this situation.

I miss the way you wanted me
When I was staying just out of your reach
Begging for the slightest touch
Ooh, you couldn’t get enough, mmm

Oh, if I could go back in time
When you only held me in my mind
Just a longing, gone without a trace
Oh, I wish I never ever seen your face
I wish you were the one
Wish you were the one that got away.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to The One That Got Away (LLP s2 – p4)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The One That Got Away (LLP s2 – p4) at Luokeshan's Blog.

meta

