Lights Out by Ingrid Michaelson (LLP s2 – p8)

April 11, 2014 § Leave a comment

It has been awhile since my last LLP post, hasn’t it? Don’t fret! I haven’t forgotten about it and was just a bit swamped with other stuff like catching up on my weeklies (TV series), reading challenges and GER reviews. Now that I’ve gotten into a doable pace with everything I want to do (it’s long way from what I want but it’s enough for now), I am resuming this part of my blog.

So let’s get on with it. This entire post is about Ingrid Michaelson’s new album “Lights Out”. It hasn’t been released yet and is scheduled to be on April 15, 2014. Now you must be wondering how I am featuring it on LLP when it’s not even out yet. It’s all thanks to iTunes Radio! If you check it out now, you’d see a neat station featured called First Play. And it has this album on it. Free listen for all (who has an iTunes Radio, of course)!

*from iTunes

*from iTunes

I listened to the entire album two and a half times at work today (and I’m listening again right now). I love it! I don’t know if I’ve told you before, but I’m not a playlist kind of person and usually just have my whole iPhone music library on shuffle. That way I’d get variety, fast tunes then slow ones and in between. Listening to this album feels like that.

The album opens with the track “Home”. It is a good choice for the opening song. It sets the mood for the whole album. The second song is “Girls Chase Boys” which is the first single, released on February 4. It is a very catchy song and Ingrid describes it as a happy break up song. The rest of the songs are duets, pop songs and mixed genre songs.

I’d have to say there is only a handful (maybe 2 or 3) out of the 14 songs that I didn’t like. It’s not that they aren’t good, just that I didn’t like them on the first listen. Each of the song holds up on its own but it’s even better as a whole album. The order of the songs makes the album balanced and it feels very cohesive. It is a great listen and not at all boring.

One thing that bothered me a bit is that it has a lot of duets/collabs. 6 of the 14 songs. That seems a lot for an album. But it’s a minor thing though.

At the top of my head, the songs that stuck to me the most are the following:

The album is now on Pre-Order on iTunes. The three songs above are also on sale already.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lights Out by Ingrid Michaelson (LLP s2 – p8) at Luokeshan's Blog.

meta

