The Fault In Our Stars (Reading Challenge Pick for 2012)

June 11, 2014 § Leave a comment

*from Goodreads

*from Goodreads

Title: The Fault in Our Stars
Author: John Green
Published Date: January 2012
Synopsis: “Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.” – From Goodreads

Format: eBook (313 pages)
Date Started: June 3, 2014
Date Completed: June 4, 2014

I didn’t plan on reading TFiOS until much later. I really wanted to read every book on my Reading Challenge in order, lol. But I wanted to watch the movie soon after its release so I decided to just go ahead and read it. Anyway, I already broke the “read in order” rule when I read my 1986 pick before my 1984 (and I haven’t even started my 1985 pick, lol).

TFiOS was on almost all of 2012’s bestseller lists. I didn’t read it then because I usually stay away from drama books especially about illnesses. It’s too close for comfort and I would rather read something light and entertaining. That was back then though. When I decided to do my 2nd RC for this year and push beyond my limits, this is one of the books I picked which I usually wouldn’t. I’m glad that I did.

I liked the book very much. It was insightful, witty, funny, then heartbreaking. I like the writing style. This is my first John Green book so I don’t know if this is his usual writing style. But yeah I liked it so I will check his other books (and will read after my current RC).

What made the book good I think are the characters. John Green did such a good job developing the characters. I fell in love with them. I saw myself in Hazel. She is pragmatic but thoughtful and sensitive at the same time. Gus on the other hand, is a romantic and idealistic. They are both intelligent and some of their conversations are too funny. I am so drawn towards these kinds of characters.

I also love how there are so many quotable quotes on this book, lol. I highlighted so many of them on my Kindle app. Gosh, I am such a sucker for quotes. Some of the ones I loved are the following:

Pain demands to be felt.

“‘Sometimes people don’t understand the promises they’re making when they make them,’ – Hazel
‘Right, of course. But you keep the promise anyway. That’s what love is. Love is keeping the promise anyway.’ – Isaac

No matter how hard you kick, no matter how high you get, you can’t go all the way around.

As I have mentioned above, the main reason why I read it before I was supposed to is because of the movie. I have seen the movie before writing this btw. I saw it hours after finishing the book. I’ve also written a short review of the movie for GER which I’ll be reblogging tomorrow. I liked the movie too and thought it was a good adaptation. I urge you my readers to read the book (it’s a fast read, about 4 hours) and to see the movie too.

My rating on Goodreads is 4 stars (for Really Liked It).

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Fault In Our Stars (Reading Challenge Pick for 2012) at Luokeshan's Blog.

meta

